Manage MoPub Marketplace
- Differentiate ‘Marketplace Tab’ from ‘Marketplace Line Item’
- Analyze Your Marketplace Performance
- Enable or Disable Marketplace at the Ad Unit Level
- Set Price Floors
- Review and Manage the Ads Your Users Are Seeing
- Manage Your Marketplace Settings
The Marketplace tab has three sub-menus: Performance, Creative review, and Settings. In them you can:
- Performance sub-menu:
- Creative review sub-menu:
- Settings sub-menu:
Note that the actions you take in the Marketplace tab only apply to these MoPub-generated Marketplace ‘Marketplace Tab’. The difference between types of Marketplace line items is explained later in this article.
Differentiate ‘Marketplace Tab’ from ‘Marketplace Line Item’
Before we jump into working with the Marketplace tab, it’s important to distinguish between the two flavors of Marketplace instances.
‘Marketplace tab’ are instances that MoPub auto-generates when Marketplace is approved. MoPub creates an instance for each of your ad units. You can manage these instances globally from the Marketplace tab. They are intended for simplistic and batch management of your Marketplace activity. They are assigned a default CPM of $.05 and set to run at Priority 12 to compete with Network line items (which also run at Priority 12). If the instance is Enabled, it is automatically included in that ad unit’s waterfall and labeled as a ‘Marketplace Tab’ ad source.
‘Marketplace line items’ are instances you can optionally create yourself in the New line item page of the Orders tab. These items offer more flexibility and control with regard to targeting. Their default to Priority 10, but you can change this. You can manage these instances from the Orders tab or from the waterfall in the Apps tab’s Ad unit details page). Any changes you make to one of these instances applies only to that instance; they are not managed globally. In the waterfall, these ad sources are labeled ‘Marketplace line item.’
The image below depicts a waterfall (accessed in the Apps tab’s Ad unit details page), containing both kinds of ad sources we discussed: a ‘Marketplace tab’ ad source and a ‘Marketplace line item’. Compare the two ad sources:
|Marketplace tab Instances||Marketplace line item Instances|
|What they really are:||Marketplace instances that MoPub creates for you by default in the Marketplace tab.||Marketplace instances that you, the publisher, optionally create manually in the New line item page of the Orders tab.|
|Created by:||MoPub creates these for you when you set up Marketplace.||You can create these if you want additional Marketplace targeting options, typically at a different priority than 12.|
|Created when:||After you have followed the steps to set up Marketplace, MoPub creates default line items for every ad unit you have created.||You can create additional Marketplace line items whenever you want.|
|Created where:||In the Marketplace tab.||In the New line item page of the Orders tab.|
|Priority:||These are all assigned Priority 12 to compete with your Network line items. You cannot change the priority for ‘Marketplace tab’ instances.||You can set any priority. Default is Priority 10.|
|How to enable/disable:||Navigate to the Marketplace tab, and toggle the Enabled switch. They are enabled by default.
You can globally enable or disable all the Marketplace Tab line items in the Marketplace Settings page by selecting the Marketplace on or Marketplace off option.
|There are two places to do this:
- In the Apps tab, by clicking on an app and then on the desired ad unit, and toggling the Enabled switch for the line item in the ad unit’s waterfall.
- In the Orders tab, by clicking on an order and then toggling the Enabled switch for the line item.
|How to filter content:||There are two places to do this:
- In the Marketplace Settings page.
- In the Content blocking page, where your changes will apply to all Marketplace instances in your account.
|In the Content blocking page.|
Note that blacklists set at the account level apply to both ‘Marketplace tab’ and ‘Marketplace line item’ instances. As a best practice, we recommend account-wide content blocking.
Analyze Your Marketplace Performance
Use the graphs in the Marketplace tab to view your Marketplace performance.
Scroll below the graphs to view these numbers broken down by app and ad unit. The graphs on top of the page can be viewed by one of four metrics: Revenue, eCPM, Impressions, or CTR. For details about our metrics, to our glossary.
If you don’t specify an app or ad unit, the graphs display all your ad units’ performance across your account. Once you select an app or ad unit from the Find apps and ad units field, the performance graphs reflect your selection. Use the drop lists to filter the graphs by ad format and Marketplace status (Marketplace-enabled or -disabled ad units).
By default the numbers displayed reflect performance for the last 14 days. To change the time range, click on the time range field. You can select from the shortcuts we’ve provided to view data for today, yesterday, the last seven days, the last 14 days, this quarter, or last quarter. Alternatively, you can specify a custom period using the calendar feature.
Click Export in the top right corner to export your report to a CSV file. Your report will be broken out by ad unit.
Enable or Disable Marketplace at the Ad Unit Level
Toggle the Enabled switch to turn Marketplace on or off for an ad unit. When you first set up Marketplace, all ad units are by default enabled. You can remove the ‘Marketplace Tab’ instance from an ad unit’s waterfall by disabling it here. Doing so removes the ‘Marketplace Tab’ ad sources from the ad unit’s waterfall in the Apps tab.
In the image below, an ad unit is toggled to Enabled in the Marketplace tab.
These actions apply only to the ‘Marketplace tab’, instances in your waterfall, because ‘Marketplace line item’ ad sources are not managed here. To disable a ‘Marketplace line item’ ad source, set it to ‘Disabled’ in the ad unit’s waterfall (in the Apps tab).
Set Price Floors
A price floor is the minimum price that you’re willing to be paid for an impression from the Marketplace. For example, if you receive offers for ads that have a $0.50 CPM, but your price floor is $0.60, then those ads will not show. To set different price floors for different inventory, go to the Marketplace tab and type in the price floor in the Min. CPM column next to the app or ad unit.
Price floors can have a huge impact on revenue you make through Marketplace; test different floor pricing to find the right balance of fill and revenue.
It’s also important to keep your network CPMs updated and accurate in the UI; Marketplace will only serve an impression if it can pay more than your network. Follow our best practices to drive the most revenue to your applications:
First few weeks: We recommend keeping your price floors as low as possible, especially in your first few weeks, as the exchange acclimates to your new inventory.
Keep your price floors low: Keep the price floors low in general, because setting them too high discourages our demand-side partners from bidding on your inventory, and can result in lost revenue. Our Marketplace partners will compete against each other and drive the CPM up on their own.
Don’t set your Marketplace price floors above those for your networks: Setting the floors higher than your network CPMs may result in a lower-performing ad network winning an impression when the Marketplace may have been willing to pay more.
Always set the price floor below your lowest-paying ad network: Setting your Marketplace price floors below your lowest-paying ad network helps you avoid losing out on potential revenue.
In this tab, you can only set price floors for ‘Marketplace tab’ instances in your waterfall, because ‘Marketplace line items’ are not managed here. To set price floors for ‘Marketplace line items’, go to the ad unit’s waterfall (in the Apps tab).
Review and Manage the Ads Your Users Are Seeing
Use Creative review to view the top 500 creatives that appear in your app. This page displays the creative ID, the running status of the creative, the DSP that returned the creative, the impression count delivered for that creative, the revenue accrued from the creative, click-through rate (CTR), and the current eCPM value for each creative.
Click on a Creative ID link to view or block a specific creative in the Preview Creative page. This page displays the DSP showing the ad, the Advertiser URL, a visual Preview of the ad, and its HTML.
To block the creative from serving to inventory through the Marketplace tab, click Block creative in the bottom left corner.
Manage Your Marketplace Settings
Navigate to the Settings sub-menu of the Marketplace tab to manage other aspects of Marketplace. The settings here apply only to ‘Marketplace tab’ instances, because the ‘Marketplace line items’ are not managed here.
Turn all of Marketplace on and off in this section.
Marketplace status is automatically turned on after you set up and are approved for Marketplace. Setting a status here turns Marketplace on or off for all your ‘Marketplace tab’ instances only. To disable a ‘Marketplace line item’ instance, navigate to the line item itself or the ad unit’s waterfall (in the Apps tab).
Fullscreen Display and Video Settings
Video ads offer a valuable opportunity to drive more revenue for your interstitial inventory.
In the Settings sub-menu, scroll down to the Fullscreen display and video settings section, select which kind of video ads you want to permit, and then select the video lengths to permit.
Your settings only apply to interstitial ad units. These settings do not apply to rewarded video ad units or native ad units.
Set filters to block specific types of creatives from displaying ads on your apps. In the Settings sub-menu, scroll down to the Content filtering section.
- Filter level: Specify a general level of filtering: strict, moderate, low, default, or custom; the categories and creative attributes that are blocked by your selected level appear on the right. Custom settings can only be entered by your account representative, so contact your account team or firstname.lastname@example.org to use that option. If you select to use custom filter settings, then the default blocks are applied, and MoPub staff can manually enter additional categories and creative attributes to block on your behalf.
Advertiser URL Blacklist
You can block specific advertisers from displaying ads in your apps by adding the domain name (advertiser URL) to your Advertiser URL Blacklist. To block an advertiser, in the Settings sub-menu, scroll down to the Advertiser URL blacklist section, and enter their domain. You will no longer see advertisements from that URL.
You can find an advertiser’s domain name in the Creative review sub-menu; by clicking on a Creative ID link. The Preview Creative page displays the advertiser URL, along with the creative. Note that:
- Domains must NOT include “
http://www” or any additional punctuation or subdomains.
- Domains should not be full app store URLs. Anything you enter will be searched in the domain the bidder returns. For example, if you enter “
bigadvertiser”, all variations of that will be blocked, such as “bigadvertiser.com”, “bigadvertiser.co.uk”, “bigadvertiser1234.com”, etc.
These advertiser URL blacklists will only apply to the ‘Marketplace Tab’ instances. To apply advertiser URL blacklists across all ads serving through MoPub Marketplace, use the content blocking page; those blacklists apply across your whole account. We recommend blocking at the account level.
Last updated October 06, 2020
TWITTER, MOPUB, and the Bird logo are trademarks of Twitter, Inc. or its affiliates. All third party logos and trademarks included are the property of their respective owners.
© 2020 MoPub (a division of Twitter, Inc.)