MoPub Marketplace

MoPub Marketplace is our real-time bidding exchange, which gives publishers access to an additional revenue source through a competitive auction with complete transparency and control. MoPub’s Marketplace will only win if it is able to beat the highest performing ad network that has an available ad. Marketplace increases the quantity of potential bidders for your impressions, without having to include additional SDKs. Once you have enabled Marketplace, the price floor should always be set below your lowest performing ad network, in order to avoid losing out on potential revenue.

To get started with MoPub Marketplace you’ll need to Setup Marketplace and be approved by MoPub Policy.

To understand why mobile programmatic can benefit you, read our Mobile Programmatic Guide.

  • What programmatic is and how RTB works
  • The benefits of mobile programmatic
  • The benefits of mobile in-app programmatic
  • Why statements like “there’s no attribution in mobile” and “programmatic is just remnant inventory” are myths.

Marketplace Setup

The MoPub Marketplace is a self-service, real-time bidding exchange for mobile apps. It enables publishers to plug in to more demand sources on the MoPub platform. It is essential for publishers to properly set up the Marketplace to allow for maximum monetization potential.

Marketplace Approval

  1. In order to be approved for MoPub Marketplace, you will need to navigate to the Marketplace tab in the MoPub UI.

  2. From there, you will be prompted to enter your company and payment information so you can be approved for MoPub Marketplace approval. You will not receive ads from the MoPub Marketplace until your account has been approved.

  3. After you have completed your company and payment information, you will see a notice indicating that your account is under review.

  4. While awaiting approval, regularly check the inbox of the email account you used to create your MoPub account in to see if has reached out to you.

If you haven’t heard from us in seven days, you can email attaching the following:

  • The corresponding Android package name/iTunes App Store URL linked to your app in the MoPub UI.
  • Screenshots of the app in your admin page/your website’s admin page to show that you are the owner of the account.
  • Link to your Privacy Policy.
  • Reference your MoPub account email address for Policy to know which account to look at.

Marketplace Settings

  • Navigate to the Settings sub-menu to set your content-filtering level and full screen ad unit settings.

  • In your Settings, you can also block specific creatives and advertisers from displaying ads on your apps by adding the domain name (advertiser URL) to your Advertiser Domain Blocklist. Once this is set, you will no longer see advertisements from that URL.

  • In the Marketplace Activity section, you can hide your application name and ID by checking “Prevent Marketplace bidders from seeing your application name.” Some publishers will want to prevent sending the application name and ID to the marketplace so that advertisers are not able to know that they are running on these particular apps. This is primarily used when the publisher has an ad sales team that is working directly with advertisers. Many advertisers and demand partners, however, will not value inventory highly if they don’t know the application name; so we recommend that most publishers don’t prevent bidders from seeing the app details.

Creative Review

  • The Creative Review sub-menu within the Marketplace page allows you to view every creative that appears on your app. It displays the creative, advertiser, DSP, revenue associated, impression and eCPM values associated with the creative.
  • You can block creatives that you no longer wish to see in your app by using the Blocked column

Setting Marketplace Price Floors

A price floor is the minimum price that you’re willing to be paid for an impression from the Marketplace. For example, if you receive offers for ads that have a $0.50 CPM, but your price floor is $0.60 then those ads will not show. To set different price floors for different inventory, you can type in the CPM in the “Minimum CPM” column next to the app or ad unit in the ‘Marketplace’ tab.

Price floors can have a huge impact on the revenue you make through Marketplace and our best practices will ensure that you are driving the most revenue to your applications.

  • Keep your price floors low — setting your price floor too high will discourage our demand side partners from bidding on your inventory and can result in lost revenue. Our Marketplace partners will compete against each other and drive the CPM up on their own.
  • Don’t set your price floor above your networks — setting the floor above your network CPMs may result in a lower-performing ad network winning an impression when the Marketplace may have been willing to pay more.
  • Setting your network CPMs correctly is extremely important when turning on the Marketplace. These are the CPMs the Marketplace needs to beat.


What is mobile programmatic?

Check out our mobile programmatic guide.

What is the MoPub Marketplace?

The MoPub Marketplace is a self-service, real-time bidding exchange for mobile apps. It enables publishers like you to plug in to more demand sources on the MoPub platform. You can think of a real-time bidding exchange like a real time auction where demand-side platforms (DSPs), ad agencies, and other advertisers can bid on every impression you would normally send to an ad network. When a Marketplace bidder beats the estimated CPM from the ad networks you currently work with, that impression will be filled by that bidder. If no Marketplace bidder can beat the ad networks, then your impression will be filled by an ad network as before. MoPub then aggregates the revenue you earn from Marketplace bidders and pay you in one monthly direct deposit. For details on costs for Marketplace, see questions below.

What is real-time bidding?

Real-time bidding is an auction for each ad impression that happens in real-time when an ad is served. The bidders are advertisers or those parties that represent advertisers and often have sophisticated algorithms to determine the value of reaching a particular user, at a particular instant, on a particular app. As a publisher, you’re serving available ad inventory to the marketplace and putting it up for bid, along with any other information that is passed along about the request. This information can be helpful because it enables bidders to understand more about the value of each impression and therefore can raise their willingness to pay.

Why should I use the MoPub Marketplace?

MoPub Marketplace is an easy way for publishers to monetize their apps more effectively, and with greater transparency and control. You can earn additional ad revenue from the Marketplace whenever bidders beat your ad network prices, and you will never earn less than you would have without Marketplace. Marketplace also enables you to set price floors and frequency caps for complete control over every impression, so you can maximize revenue and monetize your audiences from more sources.

How much can I expect to make through the MoPub Marketplace?

While prices vary with real-time bidding, greater RTB volume means more competition, which means more competitive pricing. You will never earn less revenue by enabling Marketplace because bidders from the Marketplace will only win when their bid (minus the MoPub revenue share) beats your mediated ad networks.

What is the MoPub revenue share?

MoPub passes the majority of Marketplace revenue to you, the publisher. We take a revenue share that is deducted from the amount that we receive from bidders in the Marketplace. The numbers that you see displayed in your dashboard are “net to publisher” numbers, i.e. they are the numbers that you will receive at the end of the payment period.

Who is eligible for the Marketplace?

The Marketplace is publicly available to any publisher that agrees to MoPub’s Terms of Service.  To be approved for Marketplace, you’ll need to enter your company and payment information in the Marketplace tab of the MoPub UI.  Then, you should email the MoPub Policy Team at with up to date payment information and the corresponding Android package name/iTunes App Store URL/Website URL linked to your MoPub App in the MoPub UI.  For faster approval, please include screenshots of the app in your Admin page/your website’s admin page to show that you are the owner of the account in your email to policy.

Is the MoPub Marketplace an ad network?

No. The MoPub Marketplace is a real-time bidding exchange that connects advertisers to publishers. MoPub does not directly run campaigns on behalf of advertisers.

What if I only have Marketplace enabled on MoPub and no ad networks?

Marketplace bidders will win you inventory any time that they choose to bid on your inventory and clear any price floors that you have set, adding an additional revenue source for you.

How does the MoPub Marketplace compete with my ad networks?

The MoPub Marketplace is designed never to lose money for the publisher. The bid received through the marketplace is compared to the network eCPMs you set up in the MoPub UI. If the Marketplace bid is higher than the network eCPM, the Marketplace ad is delivered. Otherwise, the highest performing ad network ad is shown. Remember that ad network fill rates are almost never 100%, so even if the Marketplace bid is lower than your highest ad network, the Marketplace ad will show when a higher performing network doesn’t fill.

Who is bidding on the MoPub Marketplace?

Advertisers, ad agencies, and demand-side platforms (DSPs) will be able to target users more effectively based on information that publishers provide, such as geolocation. Advertisers can better identify their target audiences based on impressions and get better results from their campaigns, raising their willingness to pay for certain impressions.

What if I want to buy ads on the MoPub Marketplace?

For publishers that want distribution, you can buy ads on the Marketplace through a demand partner (a DSP or ad network). Please contact for more details.

Do I get paid on clicks (CPC), impressions (CPM), or something else?

The MoPub Marketplace operates on a CPM basis. This means that you’ll get paid for every impression that clears through the Marketplace. However, you should pay attention to your CTR and conversion rates because bidders will learn how well your inventory performs and will adjust accordingly. Furthermore, the way that you display ad impressions in your app must comply with the MoPub Program Policies – specifically, fraudulent activities like artificially increasing refresh rates or requesting ads that are not shown are prohibited.

How much of my traffic will go on the marketplace?

Any request that falls past the Guaranteed and Promotional tiers will be sent to participate in the Marketplace, if the ad unit it is coming from has the Marketplace turned on. If any bids “beat” your existing ad network eCPMs then the Marketplace will win, giving you more revenue. If the ad network wins, it will be shown.

Are there any restrictions on content where I can use the MoPub Marketplace?

Yes. Apps that you integrate with on the MoPub Marketplace must comply with our MoPub Program Policies, located at /legal/. These policies are updated from time to time. It is your responsibility to ensure ongoing compliance with them otherwise you are subject to removal from the MoPub Program.

What platforms do you support?

We support Android and iOS (iPhone, iPad and iPod).

What formats do you support?

The Marketplace supports all of the same formats that MoPub currently supports, which includes banner, MRECT, native, interstitial and rewarded video.

What controls do I have?

The Marketplace is designed to provide maximum control and transparency to the publisher. You can view the creatives that are running in your app and block the advertiser running them. You can also opt in or out of the marketplace on an ad unit by ad unit basis, and set each ad unit’s price floor.

Last updated August 26, 2019

TWITTER, MOPUB, and the Bird logo are trademarks of Twitter, Inc. or its affiliates. All third party logos and trademarks included are the property of their respective owners.

© 2019 MoPub (a division of Twitter, Inc.)