Manage MoPub Marketplace

After you have set up MoPub Marketplace, use this article to learn how to manage it in the Marketplace tab. (To understand the basics of MoPub Marketplace, start here.)

The Marketplace tab has three sub-menus: Performance, Creative review, and Settings. In them you can:

Note that the actions you take in the Marketplace tab only apply to the MoPub-generated Marketplace line items of type ‘Marketplace Tab’. The difference between types of Marketplace line items is explained later in this article.

Analyze Your Marketplace Performance

Use the graphs in the Marketplace tab to view your Marketplace performance.

Analyze Marketplace

Scroll below the graphs to view these numbers broken down by app and ad unit.

Design Your Report

If you don’t specify an app or ad unit, the graphs display all your ad units’ performance across your account. Once you select an app or ad unit from the Find apps and ad units field, the performance graphs reflect your selection. Use the drop lists to filter the graphs by ad format and Marketplace status (Marketplace-enabled or -disabled ad units).

By default the numbers displayed reflect performance for the last 14 days. To change the time range, click on the time range field. You can select from the shortcuts we’ve provided to view data for today, yesterday, the last seven days, the last 14 days, this quarter, or last quarter. Alternatively, you can specify a custom period using the calendar feature.

Click Export in the top right corner to export your report to a CSV file. Your report will be broken out by ad unit.

Understand Your Report

The graphs on top of the page can be viewed by one of four metrics: Revenue, eCPM, Impressions, or CTR.

  • Revenue: Total amount of earnings you generated from in-app advertising activity, after MoPub’s revenue share has been deducted. (You can also use offline reports to track your revenue since data has been consolidated.)

  • eCPM: The CPM and the eCPM are two sides of the same coin: CPM is the cost per mille, or price for every thousand ad impressions. For campaigns that are non-CPM, for example CPC, we calculate the eCPM, or effective CPM: a metric equivalent to the CPM to reflect the cost for every 1,000th ad impression, regardless of what buying method is being used (fixed price, CPM, CPC, CPA or CPO).

  • Impressions: The number of times an ad request resulted in an impression counted.

  • CTR: The click-through rate is a ratio of clicks to impressions.

The app and ad unit breakdown below the graphs displays additional information for each ad unit:

  • Status: Whether that ad unit is enabled (“Running”) for Marketplace, or disabled (“Paused”). This column reflects the position of the Enabled switch to the right of it.

  • Enabled: Use this switch to enable or disable Marketplace for that ad unit. This switch affects the value of the Status column to its left.

  • Min. CPM: This is the price floor—the minimum price you’re willing to accept for the impression from the Marketplace—for that ad unit. You can adjust it here.

Enable or Disable Marketplace at the Ad Unit Level

Toggle the Enabled switch to turn Marketplace on or off for an ad unit. When you first set up Marketplace, all ad units are by default enabled. You can remove Marketplace from an ad unit’s waterfall by disabling it here. Doing so removes the Marketplace line item from the ad unit’s waterfall in the Apps tab.

In the image below, an ad unit is toggled to Enabled in the Marketplace tab.

Enabled Marketplace Ad Unit in the Marketplace Tab

These actions apply only to MoPub-Generated Marketplace line items of type ‘Marketplace tab’, because manually created Marketplace line items do not appear here. To disable a manually created Marketplace line item of type ‘Marketplace line item’, set it to ‘Disabled’ in the ad unit’s waterfall (in the Apps tab).

Set Price Floors

A price floor is the minimum price that you’re willing to be paid for an impression from the Marketplace. For example, if you receive offers for ads that have a $0.50 CPM, but your price floor is $0.60, then those ads will not show. To set different price floors for different inventory, go to the Marketplace tab and type in the price floor in the Min. CPM column next to the app or ad unit.

Price floors can have a huge impact on the revenue you make through Marketplace; setting your network CPMs correctly is extremely important when turning on the Marketplace. These are the CPMs the Marketplace needs to beat. Follow our best practices to drive the most revenue to your applications:

  • First few weeks: We recommend keeping your price floors as low as possible, especially in your first few weeks, as the exchange acclimates to your new inventory.

  • Keep your price floors low: Keep the price floors low in general, because setting them too high discourages our demand-side partners from bidding on your inventory, and can result in lost revenue. Our Marketplace partners will compete against each other and drive the CPM up on their own.

  • Don’t set your Marketplace price floors above those for your networks: Setting the floors higher than your network CPMs may result in a lower-performing ad network winning an impression when the Marketplace may have been willing to pay more.

  • Always set the price floor below your lowest-performing ad network: Setting your Marketplace price floors below your lowest-performing ad network helps you avoid losing out on potential revenue.

In this tab, you can only set price floors for MoPub-Generated Marketplace line items of type ‘Marketplace tab’, because manually created Marketplace line items do not appear here. To set price floors for manually created Marketplace line items of type ‘Marketplace line item’, go to the ad unit’s waterfall (in the Apps tab).

Review and Manage the Ads Your Users Are Seeing

Use the Creative review sub-menu of the Marketplace tab to view the top 500 creatives that appear in your app. This page displays the creative ID, the running status of the creative, the DSP that returned the creative, the impression count delivered for that creative, the revenue accrued from the creative, click-through rate (CTR), and the current eCPM value for each creative.

Marketplace Creative Review

Click on a Creative ID link to view or block a specific creative in the Preview Creative page. This page displays the DSP showing the ad, the Advertiser URL, a visual Preview of the ad, and its HTML.

Marketplace Creative Review - Block Creative

To block the creative from serving to inventory through the Marketplace segment, click Block creative in the bottom left corner.

Manage Your Marketplace Settings

Navigate to the Settings sub-menu of the Marketplace tab to manage other aspects of Marketplace. The settings here apply only to MoPub-Generated Marketplace line items of type ‘Marketplace tab’, because manually created Marketplace line items are not managed here.

Marketplace Status

Turn all of Marketplace on and off in this section.

Marketplace Settings - Status

Marketplace status is automatically turned on after you set up and are approved for Marketplace. Setting a status here turns Marketplace on or off for all your MoPub-Generated Marketplace line items of type ‘Marketplace tab’ only. To disable a manually created Marketplace line item of type ‘Marketplace line item’, go to the ad unit’s waterfall (in the Apps tab).

Fullscreen Display and Video Settings

Video ads offer a valuable opportunity to drive more revenue for your interstitial inventory. You can automatically introduce video ads from MoPub Marketplace demand partners without burdening your app with additional SDKs. To enable video, make sure you are using a MoPub iOS or Android SDK v2.1.0 or later.

Marketplace Settings - Fullscreen Display

In the Settings sub-menu, scroll down to the Fullscreen display and video settings section, select which kind of video ads you want to permit, and then select the video lengths to permit.

Your settings only apply to interstitial ad units. These settings do not apply to rewarded video ad units or native ad units.

Content Filtering

Set filters to block specific types of creatives from displaying ads on your apps. In the Settings sub-menu, scroll down to the Content filtering section.

Marketplace Settings - Content Filtering

  • Filter level: Specify a general level of filtering: strict, moderate, low, default, or custom; the categories and creative attributes that are blocked by your selected level appear on the right. Custom settings can only be entered by your account representative, so contact support@mopub.com to use that option. If you select to use custom filter settings, then the default blocks are applied, and MoPub staff can manually enter additional categories and creative attributes to block on your behalf.

  • Blocked categories: This section lists IAB-recognized categories used to characterize apps in the app stores. The listed categories will be blocked from advertising in your app.

  • Blocked creative attributes: This section lists the IAB-recognized creative attribute tags that DSPs include in their bid responses. Ads described with any of the listed attributes will be blocked from advertising in your app.

These content filtering settings will only apply to the MoPub-generated Marketplace line items of type ‘Marketplace Tab’. To apply content filtering across all ads serving through MoPub Marketplace, use the content blocking page.

Advertiser URL Blacklist

You can block specific advertisers from displaying ads in your apps by adding the domain name (advertiser URL) to your Advertiser URL Blacklist. To block an advertiser, in the Settings sub-menu, scroll down to the Advertiser URL blacklist section, and enter their domain. You will no longer see advertisements from that URL.

Marketplace Settings - Advertiser URL Blacklist

Enter each domain on a separate line using returns. Domains must NOT include “www”, “http://www” or any additional punctuation or subdomains. Domains should not be full app store URLs. Anything you enter will be searched in the domain the bidder returns. For example, if you enter “bigadvertiser”, all variations of that will be blocked, such as “bigadvertiser.com”, “bigadvertiser.co.uk”, “bigadvertiser1234.com”, etc.

You can find an advertiser’s domain name in the Creative review sub-menu; by clicking on a Creative ID link. The Preview Creative page displays the advertiser URL, along with the creative.

These advertiser URL blacklists will only apply to the MoPub-generated Marketplace line items of type ‘Marketplace Tab’. They will be added to any account-wide blacklisted items. To apply advertiser URL blacklists across all ads serving through MoPub Marketplace, use the content blocking page; those blacklists apply across your whole account.

DSP Whitelist

You can whitelist specific DSPs to limit bidding on all Marketplace requests with no targeting to those DSPs only. Contact support@mopub.com to use this option.

Marketplace Settings - DSP Whitelist

These whitelisted DSPs will only apply to the MoPub-generated Marketplace line items of type ‘Marketplace Tab’. They will be added to any account-wide whitelisted items.

To apply DSP whitelists across all ads serving through MoPub Marketplace, use the content blocking page; those limits apply across your whole account. If a DSP blacklist is applied on the content blocking page, the blacklist will override this whitelist.

Marketplace Line Items: MoPub-Generated vs. Manually-Created

There are two flavors of Marketplace line items: ones that MoPub auto-generates when Marketplace is approved, and ones you create yourself. These two kinds of line items have different type names and behaviors. The MoPub-generated ones are of the type ‘Marketplace tab’ and the ones you create are of the type ‘Marketplace line item.’

  • MoPub-generated line items of type ‘Marketplace tab’: After you have followed the steps to set up Marketplace, MoPub automatically creates line items for every ad unit in your Marketplace tab. Navigate to the Marketplace tab, and you see that every ad unit you have created is listed as a Marketplace line item, set by default to run with a $.05 CPM. If you toggle the Enabled switch on or off, the Marketplace line item is automatically added to or removed from that ad unit’s waterfall at Priority 12 to compete with the Network line items, whose default priority is also 12. You can manage the waterfall in the Apps tab’s Ad unit details page.

    In the Enable or Disable Marketplace at the Ad Unit Level section, an ad unit is toggled to Enabled in the Marketplace tab.

    Switching now to the Apps tab’s Ad unit details page, the same ad unit now has a new line item of type ‘Marketplace tab’ in its waterfall. Compare it to the existing manually created line item of type ‘Marketplace line item’ in its waterfall.

    Waterfall with Both Types of Marketplace Line Items

  • Manually-created line items of type ‘Marketplace line item’: In addition to the Marketplace line items MoPub creates for you by default, you can manually create Marketplace line items in the New line item page of the Orders tab. For these line items, we set a default Priority of 10, but you can assign any priority.

  MoPub-generated line items of type
Marketplace tab
Manually created line items of type
Marketplace line item
What they really are: Marketplace line items that MoPub creates for you by default in the Marketplace tab. Marketplace line items that you, the publisher, can create manually in the New line item page of the Orders tab.
Created by: MoPub creates these for you when you set up Marketplace. You create these if you want additional Marketplace line items, typically at a different priority than 12.
Created when: After you have followed the steps to set up Marketplace, MoPub creates default line items for every ad unit you have created. You create additional Marketplace line items whenever you want.
Created where: In the Marketplace tab. In the New line item page of the Orders tab.
Priority: These are all assigned Priority 12 to compete with your network line items. You cannot change the priority for line items of type ‘Marketplace tab’. You can set any priority. Default is Priority 10.
How to enable/disable: Navigate to the Marketplace tab, and toggle the Enabled switch. They are enabled by default.

You can globally enable or disable all the Marketplace Tab line items in the Marketplace Settings page by selecting the Marketplace on or Marketplace off option.
There are two places to do this:
- In the Apps tab, by clicking on an app and then on the desired ad unit, and toggling the Enabled switch for the desired line item in the ad unit’s waterfall.
- In the Orders tab, by clicking on an order and then toggling the Enabled switch for the desired line item.
How to filter content: There are two places to do this:
- In the Marketplace Settings page.
- In the Content blocking page, where your changes will apply to all Marketplace line items in your account.
In the Content blocking page.

Note that blacklists set at the account-level apply to both MoPub generated line items of type “Marketplace tab” and manually created line items of type “Marketplace line items”.

Last updated October 05, 2019

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